join our email list
& get news alerts

news archives

industry associations

news directory



mortgage industry news for your handheld computer
free mortgage industry news

Detroit Rock City

Detroit Music Awards held at State Theatre

April 22, 2005


Detroit's best paid homage to some of the music industry's best this week.

Eminem, Anita Baker, the White Stripes, and the Funk Brothers were among the national acts to receive an award at the 2005 Detroit Music Awards held in Detroit at the State Theatre April 20.

Although not in attendance, Eminem won Outstanding National Major Label Recording for "Encore," Anita Baker won Outstanding National Single for "You're My Everything," and the White Stripes won Outstanding Video/Major Budget for "Black Math."

Kid Rock attended the event, however, left empty-handed losing out in both the National Single and Video/Major Budget categories. Also nominated in the National categories were Uncle Kracker, Smokey Robinson, The Supremes, Verve Pipe, D12, and the Von Bondies.

photo of Kid Rock
Paula with Kid Rock
"The Best Of The Funk Brothers" was named Outstanding Anthology/Compilation /Reissue.

Christian singer Beth Stalker was the overall award-winner of the evening, walking away with five awards: Outstanding Video/Limited Budget for "Here With You," and four awards in the Outstanding Gospel/Christian category; Artist/Group, Recording, Songwriter, and Vocalist.

Country vocalist Terrie Lea won three awards with her group Terrie Lea & The Wild Mustangs for Outstanding Country Songwriter (Terrie Lea), Outstanding Country Vocalist, and Outstanding Country Artist/Group.

Other Country winners included; David Mosher of Grievous Angel for Outstanding Instrumentalist (Mandolin/Fiddle/Guitar) and the Volebeats for Outstanding Country Recording with "Country Favorites."

Winners in the Blues/Rhythm & Blues category included; Al Hill & the Love Butlers, Outstanding Blues Artist/Group; Dennis Burr, Instrumentalist (Electric Guitar); Detroit Women, Outstanding Recording with "Rattle Your Cage;" Kate Hart, Outstanding Songwriter; Lady T, Vocalist; and the Detroit Women, Outstanding Artist/Group.

Outstanding Classical winners included; James Hartway, Outstanding Composer; Erv Monroe, Outstanding Instrumentalist (Flute); Kerstin Allvin & James Hartway, Outstanding Recording for "An Affair of the Harp;" Detroit Chamber Winds & Strings, Outstanding Small Ensemble; James Moore, Jr., Outstanding Vocalist; and the Birmingham/Bloomfield Symphony, Outstanding Community Orchestra.

Jazz category winners included; Marion Hayden, Outstanding Composer; Alexander Zonjic, Outstanding Instrumentalist (Flute); Tumbao!, Outstanding Recording with "Montuno Salad;" Ping Spells, Outstanding Vocalist; Marcus Belgrave, Outstanding Modern Jazz/Artist/Group; and Johnny Trudell Orchestra, Outstanding Traditional Jazz.

Outstanding Rock/Pop winners included; The Fags, Alternative/Indie Artist/Group; Broadzilla, Hard Rock/Metal Artist/Group; The Impaler, Industrial Artist/Group; Jill Jack, Pop Artist/Group; The Reefermen, Rock Artist/Group, Bobby East, Instrumentalist (Electric Guitar); MindCandy, Rock/Pop Recording for "Recognize;" Tim Diaz, Rock/Pop Songwriter; and Jezter/Soot, Rock/Pop Vocalist.

Urban, Funk, and Hip-Hop Outstanding winners included; Buddha Fulla Rhymez and Paradime, Hip-Hop Artist/Group; DJ Houseshoes, Hip-Hop DJ; Paradime, Hip-Hop MC; Black Bottom Collective, Urban/Funk Artist/Group; Freeman Spells, Urban/Funk Musician (Bass); Nadir, Urban/Funk Songwriter; Valerie Barrymore, Funk Vocalist; Nadir/Distorted Soul, Urban/Funk Hip-Hop Recording for "Distorted Soul 2.0."

In the World Music/Reggae/SKA category Immunity took the Reggae/SKA group award while Blackman & Arnold received the World group award. Kerry Lundquist won Outstanding Instrumentalist (Keyboards), Nomo won for Outstanding Recording, David Asher won for Outstanding Songwriter, and Benny Cruz for Outstanding Vocalist.

Distinguished Achievement Awards were presented to the late rockabilly star Don Radar, Detroit Symphony Orchestra music director Neeme Jarvi, Grammy-winning producer and co-leader of Was (Not Was) Don Was, and bandleader and veteran trumpeter Johnny Trudell.

Was and Trudell both took stage concluding their tributes with performances exhibiting their claim to fame. Was accompanied David McMurray on guitar and Trudell added his classic trumpeting sound to the techno group Scan 7 and the Limelight dancers performance.

Sponsored by the Motor City Music Foundation, the DMA winners were chosen by votes from nearly 700 members of Detroit's professional music community.

about us | E-mail us | music industry organizations
copyright© 2005 MusicNewsDaily.com